The mind revolution

Philippians 4:8 AMP

For the rest, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them].

Whatever we think on during a day can drive us to act according to our thoughts. It is very insidious sometimes. I have learned that even though we can’t control the flow of our thoughts, we can overcome it with good thoughts. Of course, when we are new at this it is a process but the only way to do it easily is choosing everyday to walk in the Holy Spirit and to be rooted in God’s love. Make sure to ask God to make you sensitive to the promptings of the Holy Spirit because He will be the one to tell you when your thoughts are going the wrong way. Let me give an example of how a wrong though can affect us: I have a tight budget and this month the following thoughts came to my mind “I will probably not going to have enough money to by food for the rest of the month” and “You were stupid to spend so much, now there will be nothing left for food”.Two thoughts going around in my head and what did it produce? Anxiety. And the anxiety was so high that I could almost not hear the Holy Spirit’s voice telling me “You have enough for food and check on your table their is a reduction coupon for the whole amount of your grocery” So I went calmly do the groceries and the amount to pay was so low that I can do another visit at the grocery store before the month ends. My 2 simple thoughts provoked a reaction of anxiety in me, for absolutely nothing. I waisted my energy at being anxious for nothing. So how do we change our thought process? Humanly speaking we can’t but with the help of the holy Spirit it is easy. The Word tells us to overcome evil with good.That applies to our thoughts too.We overcome the flow of our though process by good thoughts. We have to think on and weigh and take account and fix our minds on good things. We think about how God is awesome,the fact that He gave us eternal life with Him,on all the good things He did for us,on all the things Jesus did and said,on the love that He has for us, on His promises for us,we thank Him for everything He does for us, etc.Our minds become so filled with great thoughts about God and His Word that they will overcome our regular human thought process which can do us and others harm. Focus one minute about the fact that He gave you eternal life; don’t tell me it did not make you feel happy! Fixing our minds on Him brings peace, joy, and if you were thinking negatively before, it will transform you into a positive person. When I chose to apply this process in my thoughts, it revolutionized my life! 💜

Leave a Reply

